2021 Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners in the three categories

Junior winners 

Ireland’s Junior Young Filmmaker of the Year 2021: Behy National School, Mayo – The Heist Before Christmas

2nd Place: James Morgan, Dublin –  What to Wear?!

3rd Place: Corpus Christi Primary School, Limerick – High Hopes

HC Original Song: Cappabue National School, Cork – We Create Magic

HC Creativity: Scoil Naomh, Kerry – School Around the Corner

HC Music: The Mid – West School for the Deaf, Limerick – The Lonely Traveller

Best International Junior: Escuela, Cámara jAcción!, Argentina –The Eco Battle.

Special Mention RTÉ 60 Second: Sean Fitzgerald, Dublin – Haunted House

Special Mention RTÉ Factual: Nellie Fortune, Wexford – Brigid and Chubby

Online Views: Scoil Raifteirí, Mayo – No Ciníochas!

Senior Winners

Ireland’s Young Filmmaker of the Year 2021: Ella Nethercott, Dublin – Learning to Dance Like a Bird

2nd Place: Max Hendrickson, Dublin – Wendigo

3rd Place: Aoife Rees, Wexford – A Guide to The End of the World

Best School: Aquinas Diocesan Grammar School, Antrim – Alamid 

Best Group: Kildare Young Filmmakers, Kildare – The Inspector

HC for Directing: Muirinn Carty, Wexford – Taciturn

HC for Cinematography: Sean Treacy, Wicklow – Horizons

HC for Performance: Shane Joyce, Limerick – Coffee Break

HC for Comedy: Asha Murray Bennett, Clare – Toothbrush 

HC for Storytelling: Nellie Warren, Dublin – Buachaill

RTÉ 60 Second: Liam Murphy, Cork –URB

RTÉ Factual: Ashish Prasai, Dublin – Stellar

Cartoon Saloon Animation: Nellie Warren, Dublin – Buachaill

Special Mention: TY Scariff Community College, Clare – How to Get Away with Mooder

Special Mention: Lisette Kinahan, Alexandra College, Dublin – Vissi d’Arte

Special Mention: Young Filmmakers The Loft, Schull, Cork –We Are All Human

Audience Award: Emily Reilly, Loreto Secondary School, Wexford – The Essay

Online Views: Young Filmmakers The Loft, Schull, Cork –We Are All Human

International Awards

Best International Film: Alisha Heng, USA – Through Their Eyes

2nd Place:  Robert Nelson, Noah Keckler, USA – Ferdinand Avenue

3rd Place: Ava Ghahremanifar, Iran – The Gull’s Shriek

HC Cinematography: Rasmus Henriksen, Paen Productions, Denmark – Epikur

HC Film made in Lockdown: Gabriella Hsu, USA – ValiDate

Animation: Valiantsina Tsedzik, Anastasia Rodionova, Russia – Good Boy, Froggy Fairy

Documentary: Mark Giddel Liwanag, Philippines – The Boats that Sail Backwards

Special Mention

Heat Audience Awards

2nd year, Áine Doohan, Áioibhe Gallagher, Aoife Doyle, Pobalscoil Chlioch, Cheannfhaola, Donegal  – MessAGE 

Ciara Brady, Sacred Heart Secondary School, Cork – Covid Rose of Tralee

Max Hendrickson, Dublin – Wendigo

Jonathan Edgar, Southern Regional College, Down – Alexa’s Awakening

Nevaeh Doyle, Leon Dunne, Big Scream Community Halloween Festival, Dublin – Last Call

Colm Looney, Kenmare Youth Film, Kerry – CheckmateDonagh Walsh, Louis Martin, Dublin – Passionate Recollections

Don’t Stop Here

More To Explore

Work With Us!

Work With Us
Fresh Film is seeking a Company Manager

Cruinniú na nÓg returns to Limerick with Fresh Film

On Saturday June 15th Cruinniu na nÓg returns to Limerick with a fun filled programme of creative activities in venues across Limerick City and County. All events are free of charge, child-centred and activity-based.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.