2022 Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners in the three categories

Junior winners 

Ireland’s Junior Young Filmmaker of the Year 2022:  ​​Lucy and Ruby Hand with LYCS Youth Work Programme James Joyce Street, Dublin– The Litter Picker.

2nd Place: Aaliyah McDermott, Dublin – The Boy Under the Bed

3rd Place: 6th Class Scoil San Phroinsias, Galway – The Appliances Make a Stand.

HC Authenticity- 5th and 6th class Moin Ruadh NS, Kilkenny Apocalypse

HC ComedySeán FitzGerald, Cork -Double Trouble

HC Concept – Mannix Buckley, Limerick – I’m Fine

Best Junior International Film: Sara Abedi, Islamic Republic of Iran – Snoring 

2nd: Filmgroup TrickU, Dragonfly Elementary School, Kleine Kielsstraße Elementary School, Germany – Parentless Adventure 

Senior Winners

Ireland’s Young Filmmaker of the Year 2022: Sean Treacy, Wicklow –The Least I Can Do

2nd Place: Max Hendrickson, Dublin – The Oubliette

3rd Place: Aoife Rees, Wexford – A Sad Excuse for a Teenage Girl

Best School: Coláiste Iognáid Conall Flynn and Noah Finneran, Galway – Heart of Land

Best Group: Emerging Limerick Filmmakers, Róisín Leavy- Sahin, Limerick – Asset of Teeth

HC for Directing: Nellie Warren, Dublin – How I Wonder

HC for Visual Innovation: Dylan Michael, Dublin– Faces

HC for Ensemble Cast: Donagh Walsh and Louis Martin – Teenage Type Beat

HC for Screenplay: Kevin Meggs, Dublin –Sunday

RTÉ 60 Second: Jade Thomson Coláste Chill Mhantáin Wicklow – Someone Gets Hurt

RTÉ Factual: Chloe Forde, Nina Beatrice Gicale, Le Chéile Secondary School, Dublin – The Science of Colour Vision

Radharc Trust Award: Rachel and Liam O’Connor, Kerry – The Joys of Justin

Aardman Studio Animation: Nellie Warren, Dublin – How I Wonder

HC Aardman Animation: Liam Murphy, Cork – How to Construct an Albatross

Audience Award: Donagh Walsh and Louis Martin – Teenage Type Beat

International Awards

Best International Film: Ava Bounds, UK – Beth

2nd Place: 10th-grade students of La Guerche-de-Bretagne, France – Epistolary Films

3rd Place: Tessa Roe-Stanton, Seidou Rouse-Rhys, Kaia Suman, Halima Hamid, Julian Annan, Ibrahim Hamid, Edie Faulkner-Wootton, Rio Redwood-Sawyerr, Zara Loyas, Gabriel Rogers-Mullen, 1A Arts, UK –  Time off Track

HC Cinematography: Izac De castro, New Zealand – What’s Ahead of Us

HC Idea: Lazaros Mylonas, Greece – Queens Pawn

HC Storytelling: Recuerdos de un Ballerina

Best Documentary: Matilda Crowther, Australia – A Square Peg

Regional Finals Audience Awards

ULSTER: Greta Thonton – Sonder

MUNSTER: Emerging Limerick Filmmakers, Róisín Leavy-Sahin, Limerick – Asset of Teeth

CONNAUGHT: Coláiste Éinde – The Glow Up

LEINSTER: Sean Treacy, Wicklow –The Least I Can Do

DUBLIN CENTRAL: Sienna Graham, Dublin – Track No. 7

VIRTUAL 1: Glen Bowler – Inner Journey

VIRTUAL 2: Nicky Kinkldaze O’Callaghan & Peter Phelan- Swansong

Don’t Stop Here

More To Explore

Fresh Screens

Fresh is delighted to work with RTÉ, Ireland’s National Broadcaster, to present a collection of award winning and mentored films to wider audiences. The 8 films are produced by young filmmakers.
Visit RTÉ Player to see the films.

Annual Showcase 23 @ Irish Film Institute

How would you start to make a film? How do you get ideas?
Free Screening of Ireland’s Young Filmmaker of the Year 2022 awarded films with tips from the young filmmakers themselves.
Supported by the Arts Council

Cruinniú na nÓg | Limerick 10th June

Cruinniú na nÓg is Creative Ireland’s flagship event in celebrating creativity in children and young people accross Ireland.

Fresh Film is delighted to work with Limerick City and County Council and the Arts Office to programme Crunniú na nÓg Limerick on 10th June 2023.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.